The Flag of Cuba

The flag of Cuba has a design of 5 stripes, with 3 being blue alternating with 2 white ones. On the hoist side, there is a red triangle with a white 5-pointed star in the center.

It was officially adopted as the flag of Cuba in 1902, but it was first designed in 1849 by Narciso Lopez. At that time, the island was fighting for independence from Spain, and the elements of the flag reflected that fight. The three blue stripes stand for the 3 divisions of the country, the white stripes represent their cause’s purity, the red triangle symbolized the blood shed for freedom and the star represents independence.

flag of Cuba

The standard flag of Cuba

The Flag of Yara

There is actually a second Cuban flag that is specifically flown during any legislative assembly. It’s called the Flag of Yara. The bottom half of the flag is blue, and the top half is divided between a red field with a white star, and a plain white field. This flag was designed by Carlos Manuel de Cespedes (and is sometimes called the Cespedes Flag) in 1868 during the 10 Year War. This variation of the flag is usually shorter and wider than the normal national flag.

The Cuban flag

The Cuban Flag of Yara

Other National Symbols

A nation’s flag is usually the best known symbol for that country, but there are others. Cuba’s motto is “Patria o Muerte”, which is Spanish for “Homeland or Death”. The national anthem of Cuba is La Bayamesa or it’s also called El Himno de Bayamo. It’s named for the Battle of Bayamo when Cuba was fighting for independence from Spanish rule.

<< Go back to the main Facts about Cuba page