Cuba Government

A socialist republic, the Cuba government isn’t that different from many other nations except that it only allows a single political party, the Communist Party of Cuba. I admit up-front that politics is not my strong suit, so this will be a very abbreviated explanation about how the government in Cuba works.

Cuba government

The capital building is the center of Cuba’s government

Like the United States, the Cuba government has 3 branches: the executive, the legislative and the judicial.

Executive Branch

In the executive branch, there is the Council of State and the Council of Ministers, both led by the country’s president. The president holds the office as the Head of State as well as the Head of Government. The current president of Cuba is Raul Castro, who took over the office from his brother Fidel in 2008 due to Fidel Castro’s poor health. The members of the Council of State and Council of Ministers are elected by the legislative body, the National Assembly of People’s Power which is also responsible for electing the nation’s president.

Legislative Branch

The legislature is the National Assembly of People’s Power (compared to the 2-chambered system of the USA, with a Congress and Senate). There are 614 members, elected to 5 year terms from districts across Cuba. This is the only political body of the Cuba government that is elected by the people. Every citizen over 16 is eligible to vote. All of Cuba’s laws are passed or repealed here, and any amendments to the Cuban constitution are debated.

Judicial Branch

The high court in Cuba is the People’s Supreme Court, and all judges are elected by the National Assembly.

I did say this would be abbreviated. While the government in Cuba may be pretty straightforward, it’s the state control throughout the country that gets more complicated and where it differs from most other countries. But that’s a topic for another article, and it’s not really all that relevant for travel purposes anyway.

<< Go back to the main Facts about Cuba page